Southlake Association for Gifted and Talented (SAGT) is a non-profit 501(c)(3) volunteer parent advocacy group and official academic booster club in the Carroll Independent School District (CISD).  Our mission is supporting gifted and academically advanced children in the district by partnering with parents, educators, administrators, legislators, and others to promote an appropriate education for our gifted students and their exceptional needs. Our objectives are:
  • Promote awareness of and provide information regarding the unique intellectual, social, and emotional needs of gifted and talented students.

  • Support the CISD administration, teachers and Board of Trustees in their efforts to meet the needs of gifted students.

  • Answer questions and serve as an advocate for the parents of gifted and academically advanced students.

  • See more details about us in our official BYLAWS

SAGT uses various media means to effectively deliver pertinent GT information at a district, state and federal level.

SAGT Board contacts

President  -  [email protected]
Secretary [email protected]
Treasurer [email protected]
Membership [email protected]
Student Programs [email protected]
Parent Programs [email protected]
Teacher Grants [email protected]
Scholarship [email protected]

Volunteer Opportunities

SAGT was initially an independent group of parent volunteers who wanted to join together to support the academic needs of their gifted children. When our group originally organized in 2001 it was named Southlake Parents for Academic Excellence (SPACE). Read an interview with our founding President, Christine Smith  CLICK HERE . In 2009 our name was changed and we were recognized by CISD as an official district Gifted and Advanced Academic Booster Club.

  • 2019-2020                        Grace Fong
  • 2017-2019                        Hilary Hale
  • 2015-2017                        Michaelann Bush
  • 2013-2015                         Julie Doyle
  • 2011-2013                         Priscilla French
  • 2009-2011                         Renee McCall
  • 2007-2009                         Sarah Mason
  • 2006-2007                         Kathleen Panek
  • Founding President:      Christine Smith